Tsitamba, Swart settle score at EWC III

EWC President Patrick Luindula (third from left), Danie Swart and Asiashu Tsitamba (middle, both with shin pads) are flanked by EWC crew following the main event.

The two had faced-off before, with Swart winning on both occasions.

The fight, however, did not happen without some controversy as Swart failed to make weight during the pre-fight weigh-in. But such was Tsitamba’s confidence, that he agreed for the fight to happen regardless.

And he delivered.

Following back-and-forth action in the first round, Tsitamba regained ascendancy as he managed to get on top before unloading a series of punches to the head – forcing the referee to stop the fight.

The co-main event saw debutant Timaya Thomson take on Kyla de Vries in an exciting women’s showdown. Thomson was making her MMA debut, while De Vries was eyeing her second win.

The fight started with both fighters trading shots before the more experienced de Vries tried to take the fight to ground but Thomson was able to defend the take-down.

However, de Vries eventually got the take-down and started pounding, putting the debutant under severe trouble as the bell loomed.

With the bell sounding, much to Thomson’s relief, the medical team in her corner intervened as the fighter was unable to keep her footing. This resulted in the fight being stopped – handing De Vries the win via verbal submission.

“EWC three was a great success. I couldn’t have asked for anything better,” said EWC President Patrick Luindula.

“This was a dream and now it is a reality. When I compare the first event to where we are, we have come a long way and no doubt bigger things are coming.

“We expect a bigger crowd and bigger fights.”

Luindula also extended his gratitude to event sponsors and MMASA duo Ferdinand Basson and Chyrene Strauss, for ensuring the smooth running of the event.

The next EWC 4 is scheduled for August 26 at Wild Waters, Club La Boom.

EWC III full results:

Fight 1: Jordan Chetty beat Eddy Mazu via TKO – 1min 22sec into round 2.

Fight 2: Frank Cato beat Ema Zama via rear naked choke – 1min 58sec into round 1.

Fight 3: Siyabonga Zulu beat Mulhari Ngomane via knockout – 1min 14sec into round 1.

Fight 4: Gavin Mc Niel beat Victor Chiweshe via TKO – 1min 10sec into round 1.

Fight 5: Biopelo Mafoko beat Hanro Enslin via unanimous decision.

Fight 6: Cobus Pelser beat Timothy Dumwa via rear naked choke – 2min 25sec into round 1.

Fight 7: Elvis Ngwalanwala beat Chris Petersan via guillotine choke – 1min 33sec into round 1.

Fight 8: Sibusiso Simelane beat Herbert Matsveru via rear naked choke – 1min 55sec into round 2.

Fight 9: Alon Breger beat Benjamin Mangala via guillotine choke – 2min 12sec into round 2.

Fight 10: Kyla de Vries beat Timaya Thomson in round two – medical stoppage.

Fight 11: Asiashu Tsitamba beat Danie Swart via TKO – 2min 24sec into round 2. – @SabeloBoksburg

Sabelo Mashego
Sports Journalist

Latest News