Meyer makes expected changes in Bok team

Jean de Villiers.

Kick-off is scheduled for 5.45pm South African time.

The starting team includes a combined total of 880 Test caps, beating the previous mark of 836 caps, which the Bok team who got knocked out in the quarter-final stage in the 2011 World Cup, against Australia, boasted.

The captain’s inclusion at number 12 sees Damien de Allende sit out of the match-day squad, with Jesse Kriel preferred to partner De Villiers in the outside centre position.

In the forwards, Willem Alberts returns to add weight and muscle in the loose trio, along with Schalk Burger (number 8) and Francois Louw.

The tight five sees Lood de Jager and Jannie du Plessis return from injury, with Eben Etzebeth rested.

Incumbent eighthman Duane Vermeulen has been given further time to fully recover from injury and will also miss out altogether.

The bench includes Adrian Strauss, Trevor Nyakane and Siya Kolisi, while a welcome return sees scrumhalf maestro Fourie du Preez, Coenie Oosthuizen and JP Pietersen complete the substitutes.

South Africa

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 JP Pietersen – @SabeloBoksburg

Sabelo Mashego
Sports Journalist

Latest News